使您的网站更易于访问的方法-Semalt的实用技巧



每个网站所有者的主要目标是吸引尽可能多的访问者。这一点非常重要,因为无论任何网站的内容多么有用或多么重要,它都失去了其主要目的,而无需他人查看。

但是,必须采取一些步骤来确保每个人都可以访问该网站。今天,我们有数百万的互联网用户,他们需要您的网站非常方便地使用它,如果您不花时间和精力来理解这些用户的需求,您的网站将无法实现其目的。

幸运的是,使您的网站更易于访问并不困难。为了使它正确,您需要做的就是了解导致某些用户难以使用网站的潜在问题或因素。一旦您了解了这些问题,就可以轻松避免这些错误并使所有访问者更容易访问您的网站。

在这篇文章中, 塞马尔特 将帮助您了解网站可访问性涉及什么以及对SEO如此重要。我们还将概述一些可访问性准则,并向您展示如何在网站上实施每个准则。我们走吧!

网络可访问性简介

理想情况下,互联网应该向所有人开放。这意味着我们所有人都应该能够使用互联网上的任何网站。他们使用的设备,软件或条件是否会影响其功能都无关紧要;每个人都应该使用互联网上的任何网站。这构成了Web可访问性概念背后的主要思想。

有时我们无法意识到数百万的互联网用户有特殊的需求,残障和残障,这会使使用某些网站的难度超出应有的程度。在某些情况下,这些人不能使用某些网站。但是,当我们考虑到这些挑战来设计我们的网站时,更容易确保它可以满足更广泛用户的需求。

尽管某些残障和状况会影响人们使用网站的方式,但以下是一些最常见的障碍类别:
克服这些障碍可能会令人生畏,但由于使用了辅助技术来浏览互联网,因此在一定程度上减少了网页设计师的工作量。其中一些技术包括屏幕阅读器,这些屏幕阅读器可以转换网站上的书面文字并发出声音。我们还拥有语音识别软件,可将语音转换为文本,盲文终端和旨在满足特殊需求的替代键盘。

有了这些,几乎任何人都可以更轻松地浏览互联网。但是,作为网站所有者,最好是不折腾手臂,而是通过设计具有更好可访问性的网站来使他们的体验大大改善。

为什么要优先访问您的网站

您一定已经猜到,使您的网站更易于访问具有巨大的好处。这不仅是从人道主义方法迈出的重要一步,而且也是在SERP上排名更高的关键一步。一个更易于访问的网站表明,您不会与一个或另一个残障人士隔离,这意味着您的网站从残障人群中获得了更多点击,这意味着SEO排名更高。

具有更易访问的网站的第一个或最明显的好处是,它可以立即扩展您的潜在受众。很容易理解为什么。通过增加您的网站友好的用户数量,您可以直接增加用户群。仅具有该功能就足以使您领先于竞争对手,他们可能不够聪明,无法使其网站更易于访问。

当我们说要使我们的网站更易于访问时,它会使残障人士和使用互联网的所有其他人受益。很多时候,当我们设计一个可以满足特殊需求的网站时,我们会改善网站的整体设计和可用性,从而使每个人都受益。除此之外,您还可以使您的网站的设计更具灵活性和未来感。

最后,我们必须注意,现在国家/地区拥有管理Web和软件可访问性的法律。考虑到这一点,如果您计划在此类国家/地区进行操作,则必须强制匹配网站上的特定可访问性标准。

值得庆幸的是,有一些方法可以改善您的网站的可访问性。 Web Accessibility Initiative是一个自1997年以来就决心改善网站的可访问性的项目。他们还起草了称为Web内容可访问性指南(WCAG)的可访问性指南,以在其站点上找到更多信息。这些准则特别指出了网站所有者在使网站变得更加用户友好时需要采取的步骤。

同样,其他Web利益相关者(如WordPress)也建立了自己的“使WordPress可访问”团队,其唯一目的是使WordPress网站更易于访问。其他一些社区驱动的项目主张使用更易访问的网站,例如A11Y。它们提供了指导和网站所有者可以用来创建高度可访问的网站的资源。

三种方法可访问您的网站

现在我们知道了使可访问性如此重要的原因,现在该看看我们如何使您的网站更易于访问。

在开始列出之前,我们应该提到您需要正确的内容管理系统(CMS)来运行您的网站。 CMS对于网站的可访问性至关重要,只有少数几个可以比WordPress更好。

1.建立一个键盘友好的网站

这是第一步,可能是因为它是此过程中最重要的步骤。为了使任何网站都可以访问,它必须能够在不使用鼠标的情况下正常运行。这是因为许多辅助技术都通过仅键盘导航起作用。

这意味着可以通过键盘访问网站的所有主要功能,这一点很重要。使用键盘实现导航的一种方法是使用Tab键。这有助于辅助技术更改网页上具有“键盘焦点”的区域。

您可以通过尝试自己的网站来自行尝试。尝试看看是否可以仅使用键盘即可访问网站上的所有重要元素。由此,您可以查明需要处理的区域。为了帮助您,您可以依靠Web AIM之类的工具,该工具为键盘辅助功能设计提供了方便的指南。

2.确保所有内容均易于访问

当您的内容无法访问时,试图使您的网站更易于访问没有逻辑。为了使网站更易于访问,您需要确保可以访问网站页面上的内容。尽管通常这不是问题,但是当您拥有动态内容时,实现起来可能会变得更加困难。

当内容是动态的时,它会在不重新加载页面的情况下进行更改,并且如果站点无法通知辅助工具有关内容的更改,则可能会成为问题。例如,许多屏幕阅读辅助工具仅在网站首次加载时才“发声”网站上的内容。很多时候,它不会意识到已经发生了变化来通知读者。因此,网站需要使此类工具知道已发生某些更改,否则用户将错过新内容。

3.将替代文字添加到所有图像

如果您熟悉使用WordPress,则有可能在将图像添加到WordPress时注意到这一点。

替代标签,属性,替代描述或替代文本是附件图像的描述。由于某些用户看不到图像,因此屏幕阅读器会读出替代文本,以使用户清楚地了解在图像中捕获的内容。这样,可以读出图片。现在,您可以使用此字段适当地描述图像,并为可能会错过该图像中携带的信息的用户提供上下文。

似乎还不够,这些替代文字还可以大大改善您网站的SEO。这是因为您为搜索引擎提供了更多信息和要爬网的关键字。使用替代文字时,请确保为每个图像写一个描述性摘要。只要有必要,就可以包括您的关键字,以提高关键字密度而又不显得不自然。

mass gmail

Ways To Make Your Website More Accessible - Handy Tips By Semalt



The primary objective of every website owner is to attract as many visitors as possible. This is so important because no matter how useful or essential the content of any website is, it has lost its primary purpose without someone to view it.

However, a few steps must be taken to ensure that a website is accessible to everyone. Today, we have millions of internet users who need your website to be very convenient to use it, and if you do not take out time and effort to understand the needs of these users, your website wouldn't be able to achieve its purpose.

Fortunately, it isn't difficult to make your website more accessible. To get it right, all you need to do is understand the underlying issues or factors that contribute to making a website difficult to use by certain users. Once you can understand these issues, it becomes easier to avoid these mistakes and make your website more accessible to all visitors.

In this article, Semalt will help you look at what website accessibility involves and what makes it so important to SEO.  We will also outline some accessibility guidelines and show you how you can implement each guideline on your site. Let's get going!

An introduction to web accessibility

Ideally, the internet should be open to everyone. This means that we should all be able to use any website on the internet. It shouldn't matter the device they use, the software, or if they have a condition that affects their capabilities; everyone should use any website on the internet. This forms the main idea behind the concept of web accessibility.

We sometimes fail to recognize that millions of internet users have special needs, disabilities, and impairments that can make using some websites more difficult than it should be. In some cases, these individuals can't use certain websites. However, when we design our websites with these challenges in mind, it becomes easier to ensure that it accommodates the needs of a wider range of users. 

While some disabilities and conditions affect how people use websites, here are some of the most common categories of impairments:
Getting around these hurdles can be daunting, but with the use of assistive technologies to browse the internet, web designers' workload is reduced to an extent. Some of these technologies include screen readers that convert the written text on websites and vocalizes them. We also have speech recognition software that converts speech into text, Braille terminals, and alternative keyboards designed to accommodate special needs.

With these at hand, it becomes easier for almost anyone to browse the internet. However, as website owners, it would be best if you didn't fold your arms but make their experiences significantly better by designing your site with better accessibility in mind.

Why making your website accessible should be a priority

As you must have guessed, making your website more accessible comes with huge benefits. Not only is this an important step from a humanitarian approach, but it is also a key step in ranking better on SERP. A more accessible website shows that you aren't shutting out individuals with one disability or the other, which means your website gets more clicks from the disabled population, which means better SEO rankings.  

The first or most obvious benefit of having a more accessible site is that it immediately expands your potential audience. It's pretty easy to understand why. By increasing the number of users your website is friendly towards, you've grown your user base directly. Having just the feature is enough to put you ahead of the competition who may not have been smart enough to make their website more accessible.

When we say to make our website more accessible, it benefits your disabled audience and every other person who uses the internet. Many times, when we design a website to be more accessible for special needs, we get to improve the overall design and usability of the website, making it better for everyone. In addition to this, you also make your website more flexible and futuristic in its design. 

Finally, we must note that countries now have laws that govern web and software accessibility. With that in mind, it becomes compulsory to match specific accessibility standards on your website if you plan on operating in such countries. 

Thankfully, there are ways to improve the accessibility of your website. The Web Accessibility Initiative is one project that's determined to improve the accessibility of websites since 1997. They have also drafted an accessibility guideline known as the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines, or WCAG, to find out more on their site. These guidelines specifically pointed out the steps web owners will need to take when making their websites more user-friendly.

Similarly, other web stakeholders such as WordPress have developed their own Make WordPress Accessible team with the sole purpose of making WordPress websites more accessible. Several other community-driven projects advocate for more accessible websites, such as A11Y. They provide guidance and resources web owners can use to create highly accessible websites. 

3 ways to make your website accessible

Now that we know what makes accessibility so important, it is time to look at how we can make your website more accessible. 

Before we begin listing, we should mention that you need the right Content Management System (CMS) to run your site. CMS is crucial to your website's accessibility, and only a select few can top WordPress. 

1. Have a keyboard-friendly website

This comes as the first step, probably because it is the most important step in this process. For any website to be accessible, it must be able to function adequately without using a mouse. This is because many assistive technologies function with keyboard-only navigation. 

This means that it is important that all of your site's major features can be accessed via a keyboard. One way to achieve navigation with a keyboard is with the Tab key. This helps assistive technology change areas on the webpage that have "keyboard focus."

You can try this out on your own by experimenting with your website. Try to see if you can access all the important elements on your website using your keyboard alone. From this, you can pinpoint areas that need to be worked on. To help you out, you can rely on a tool such as Web AIM, which provides a handy guide for keyboard accessibility design.

2. Make sure all content is easily accessible

There is no logic in trying to make your website more accessible when your content isn't. To make a more accessible website, you need to ensure that the contents on your website's page are accessible. While achieving this is usually not a problem, it may become more difficult to achieve when you have dynamic content.

When content is dynamic, it changes without the page reloading, and this can become a problem if the site is unable to inform the assistive tool that a change has taken place with regards to the content. For example, many screen reading assistive tools only "vocalize" the content on the site when it first loads. Many times, it wouldn't realize a change has taken place to inform the reader. As such, the website needs to make such tools aware that a certain change has occurred or the user will miss the new content.

3. Add Alt Text to all images

If you're familiar with using WordPress, the chances are that you've noticed this when you add images to WordPress.

Alt Tags, attributes, alt descriptions, or Alt Texts are descriptions of the attached images. Since certain users cannot see the images, screen readers read out the Alt Text to give users a clear understanding of what was captured in the image. This way, the pictures can be readout. You can now use this field to appropriately describe the image and give context to users who otherwise would have missed the information carried in that image.

As if that weren't enough, these Alt Texts also go a long way in improving your site's SEO. This is because you give search engines more information and keywords to crawl. When using Alt Text, make sure to write a descriptive summary of each image. Try to include your keywords whenever it makes sense to improve your keyword density without making it look unnatural.

mass gmail